facebook icon
Yellow Paper Plane going in circles

No products in the cart.

About the C.A.R.E.S. Standards

The C.A.R.E.S. Standards for a Course of Study is a response to the need for a set of developmentally progressive social and emotional standards that can be taught within and across sociocultural boundaries and constructs. The research and development of the Standards was conducted over a two-year period. The planning, research, and field study to develop the Standards occurred in the latter part of 2016 and early 2017. The organizing of the study results, drafting, and final development took place in the latter part of 2017. The Standards are based on the five social and emotional competencies that were identified through research conducted by Center for Responsive Schools in 1985. These competencies form the C.A.R.E.S. framework, which has been widely taught to and adopted by educators using the Responsive Classroom approach. The five C.A.R.E.S. competencies are: cooperation, assertiveness, responsibility, empathy, and self-control.

Mapping to SEL State Standards

An increasing number of states across the United States have adopted social and emotional learning (SEL) standards in recent years. Center for Responsive Schools (CRS) has developed its own SEL framework, the C.A.R.E.S. Standards for a Course of Study, which serves as the foundation for the Fly Five curriculum. The Standards are organized into the five C.A.R.E.S. competencies (cooperation, assertiveness, responsibility, empathy, self-control), with a total of 23 standards and 300 age-appropriate skills. Download the PDF below to learn more about how the C.A.R.E.S. SEL Standards map to the CASEL five competencies and your SEL state standards.


Pin It on Pinterest